Results

Within this page I will compile all the data from my sources and briefly describe my processes and results.

1) The results from the exhibition

The exhibition aspect of my project was a huge success. With over 65 voting cards filled out this far surpassed my expectations. Lets have a look at the results.

The bar chart above shows quite clearly how the audience voted. Lets take this image by image.

Image one. This was taken by an experienced photographer who produces images to sell on a frequent basis. His image (below) utilises the Golden Ratio to good effect to achieve a composition that draws your eyes to the main point of focus (the bench).

This was the best image that used the Golden Ratio out of the three. If we look at the results for image one, 48 people voted this image to be the most pleasing one out of the three with only two people voting it to be the leasing pleasing.

Image two. This image was taken by photographer who has had a reasonable amount of teaching and training, but doesn’t practice photography on a regular level. His image doesn’t use the Golden Ratio at all, almost a polar opposite from image one.

Voters were definitely much more indecisive about this image that any other one. In terms of how close the results for pleasing vs least pleasing were, 28 voters found this image to be least pleasing out of the three. 12 voters did however find this image to be pleasing.

Image three.

Image three was taken by a completely camera illiterate volunteer. This image uses the Golden Ratio to some degree, almost like a half way image between image one and two.

The image generated mostly least pleasing results with 39 people voting that they found it the least pleasing image with only 8 people saying they found it the most pleasing out of the set.

So the image that uses the Golden Ratio to best effect (image one) had the most pleasing and the fewest least pleasing votes. The curve ball image (two) was the most confusing one which yielded mixed results for the Golden Ratio. Maybe the voters got compositially confused? These results will help me offer my personal opinions

2) My results from tracking images

After I processed all of the volunteers film and digitised it I had to formulate a type of tracking of composition within the Golden Ratio. Flick back to the article titled “Flickr & Facebook Photos” for more information on how I achieved the tracking of composition.

But I had to come up with a way of calculating the results. I came up with a circler diagram which I overlaid over each image. This gave me five areas to count the dots, area one being the most central.

An example of the rings

After completing the results all I had was a set of numbers with no way of comparing the two categories, snapshot non professionals vs the professionals. So, to add a relative figure to each categories I worked out the mean for the rings.

The results are as follows:

As you can clearly see, the professional photographers had a higher hit rate within rings one and two that the non professionals. Likewise, the non professionals had more hits in rings three and four. For each photographers diagrams, click on their names below.

I will discuss all of this primary research in more detail in section four of my project.

This entry was posted in Project 1, Research, Results, The Golden Ratio. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment